From the very beginning Stanisławόw (former name of Ivano-Frankivsk) was laid as a fortress city, totally surrounded with protective walls. The date of granting the Magdeburger right to the fortress city —the year 1662 is today considered as the founding date of Ivano-Frankivsk.
The fortress was built to the order of the city’s founder — the count Andrzej Potocki according to the newest achievements of fortification science. It looked like a correct hexagon on the edges of which the bastions were located — external five-cornered fortifications. The creator of those fortifications was the military engineer Francois Corrassini. Experienced engineers S. Potocki and H. Dalke also worked at the fortifications of the city in
At the moment two bastions from six do not exist more, the marks of three ones are still noticeable. One bastion was saved to a great extent. Its remains are presented as the brick wall in the Fortechny side-street.
In 2002 there was initiated the project of reconstructing the first bastion — there was made the decision to involve it in the new project of a souvenir and gift gallery. The visitors of that gallery will be able to see the real history of our city — ancient fortress walls, which have been carefully restored and hidden under glass. The project of gallery was developed by the well-known architects, which did their best to emphasize the large historical value of this part of the city and unique architectural attraction which